Zones are a collection of desks and meeting rooms that occupy a defined space on a floor. They can span across Groups and enable administrators to close or open workspaces quickly. Zones are also utilized by the Contact Tracing Reports.

Creating a zone

  1. Go to Application Setup > Zones.
  2. Select the Country > Location and optionally Floor.
  3. Click Add zone.
  4. Enter a name, select the floor, and enter a description if required. Click Save.

Add resources to zones

Desks and meeting rooms can be added to zones when they are created or edited, or in bulk from Resource Administration.

Add desks or meeting rooms to a zone in bulk

The steps and screenshots below describe how to add desks to a zone. The steps for meeting rooms are identical when Meeting Rooms is selected as the Resource Type.

  1. Go to Application Setup > Resources.
  2. Select the Country.
  3. Click Resource Type > Desks (or Meeting Rooms).
  4. Select the Location and Floor. You can filter the desks to show only those not assigned to a zone.
  5. Select the desks to assign and click Assign to a zone. This button will only display once a floor is selected.

Add desks or meeting rooms to zones individually when creating or editing resources

The steps and screenshots below describe how to add desks individually to a zone. The steps for meeting rooms are identical when Meeting Rooms is selected as the Resource Type.

  1. Go to Application Setup > Resources.
  2. Select the Country,
  3. Click Resource Type > Desks (or Meeting Rooms).
  4. A list of desks is displayed which you can filter by Location and Group. Click the edit icon to the right of the desk.
  5. On the desk resource form select the zone for the desk and click Save.

How to open or close a zone

  1. Go to Application Setup > Zones.
  2. Select the Country > Location and optionally Floor to display a list of zones.
  1. Click Set to closed or Set to open:
    1. Set to closed: Enter the date range to close the zone and enter a reason. If required tick Schedule cleaning to create immediate cleaning tasks for the vendor, then click Set to closed. All bookings for the period are deleted (and the current day if cleaning was requested) and users notified by email.
    2. Set to open: Enter the reason for opening the zone and click Set to open.

Booking cancelations when zones are closed

When a zone is closed, all bookings for the period are canceled and users with bookings are notified by email. The email notification is sent immediately to users who have a meeting room or bookable desk booked on the current day, and to users who have fixed and flexi desk bookings. Notifications for subsequent days are sent by the scheduler on the first evening the desk is closed.

Find out more about fixed, flexi and bookable desk types in Desk Booking.

Reopening a zone

When a zone is reopened, either manually or when the closure period expires, only the desks and meeting rooms that were closed via the Close zone operation or manually through Resource administration are opened. Any desks that were already closed from the floor plan, will remain closed.

Need more help with this?
Condeco Support

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.