By default, ALL users can perform the actions that are applied in a group’s permissions – making a booking or viewing other users’ bookings, for example. User Management allows selected users to override a group’s default permissions and apply alternate permissions for them.
For example, a meeting room might be for the sole use of a project team. The meeting room is therefore managed by a ‘Restricted Group’ which by default, denies ALL users the ability to book the room. To allow the project team members to book the room, they are added to the restricted group and alternate permissions are applied to those users, granting permissions to the group. This overrides the default group permissions and allows the users to book the room. The room is only visible to the members of the restricted group.
The permissions set on a group enable or restrict the following actions for rooms and desks:
- Can view
- Make bookings
- View other users’ bookings
- Edit other users’ bookings
- Delete other users’ bookings
Open Groups and Restricted Groups
There are two types of groups, ‘Open Groups’ and ‘Restricted Groups’. An Open Group is determined by whether a user can ‘Make bookings’. If users can make bookings then the group is an ‘Open Group’. If users cannot make bookings then the group is a Restricted Group.